July 25, 2021


Just another WordPress site


Dual enrolled student wins public speaking contest at USC Aiken – Charleston Post Courier

The Division of Communication at USC Aiken held a public talking rivals that consists of scholars fr.......

The Division of Communication at USC Aiken held a public talking rivals that consists of scholars from throughout the college this spring.

The event was held almost, and included The very biggest 10 scholars throughout All of the general public talking sections at USCA. College students gave persuasive speeches on subjects Similar to abolishing the electoral school, the detrimental end outcomes of plastic bag utilization, the adverse end outcomes of magnificence requirements on social media and The significance of stopping animal testing.

Dr. Jason Munsell, affiliate professor of communication, Dr. Rachel Whitten, assistant professor of communication and Dr. David Munson with the Texas A&M University Division of Communication, served as judges for the rivals.

First place winner, Haley Huynh, launched a speech titled “Early Overseas Language Education.” Huynh is a twin enrolled Aiken College students scholar. She said the rivals was a milestone for her, “I am actually thrilled that this particular speech gained recognition as a Outcome of It truly is a topic That is pricey to my coronary heart, and my objective in collaborating was actually simply To mirror that. I grew up by no means being In all probability the most talkative particular person, and to acquire this honor not solely as a scholar at USCA, however a twin enrollment scholar, actually simply reveals how far I’ve come and the potential That people who Do not converse out a lot have.”

Spring winners: Haley Huynh, “Early Overseas Language Education,” first place; Simon Berry, “Defending the Abolition of the Electoral College and Adoption of Ranked Selection Voting,” second place; and Mary Cecil, “Plastic Bag Air pollution,” third place.

Fall winners: Eliyana Brown, “Constructing Blocks of STEM in South Carolina,” first place; Amaya Emmons, “The Decriminalization Of medicine,’ second place; and Rebekah Jollie, “Cease Breaking the Clock: Maintaining a Fixed Time Inside the U.S.,” third place.

Contestants included: Bradlee Hook, Anthony Longobardo, Iris Nichols, Christian Reagin, Jewell Russell, Blaire Vaughn and Madeline Whitaker.